My Process

July 1, 2008

I get a lot of questions about how I attack an illustration, and basically I do the same thing that I have done since I was in first grade…. I sketch first. Most designers do, some don’t; it is up to you. But I typically find something that moves me, I shoot it, print it, sketch it, and re-sketch it, until I am happy. Then scan in and fine tune it in Illustrator. And by fine tune, I DO NOT MEAN LIVE TRACE! I mean PEN TOOL!!! I love just going for it and seeing what I can accomplish. Every time I design something there exists a certain amount of uncertainty and you have to just attack it and push yourself, and you never know what you will come up with. Here is a sample of a skull that I am working on right now. It will be VERY grungy and will probably be for a client, but you never know.

Neno

Leave a Reply

