Best Friend

September 29, 2008

best friend

So in my previous post I mentioned that things have been really crazy lately. Well my dog of 14 years MJ who is a little Shi Tzu, was just diagnosed with heart cancer. And the tumor on his heart is putting fluid and pressure on his lungs. And the vet has informed us that he has anywhere from two-weeks to two-months to live. They also hit is with the fact that we will have to bring him in to end his suffering. That is the hardest part. I love knowing that I can literally spend the last second with my best bud, but it kills me inside to know that I will have to actually hold him and feel the life escape from his body. I find comfort and support in my wife and family, but it doesn’t make it any easier watching him limp around, breathe heavily, and have coughing fits. So until MJ has to go, I will be on edge, and always, always remembering all of our great times together, and truly thank God for this precious little gift.

Neno

4 Responses to “Best Friend”

  1. kao said

    I’m terribly sorry you have to go through this. It’s one of the worst experiences. Hold onto the memories and stay strong.

  2. AndiK said

    Just happened by your site, and this photo stopped me cold – if the white on MJ’s chest ran up to his chin, he would be the spitting image of Mittens, the Shiz Tzu we had when I was a kid. I am so sorry that you are faced with saying goodbye. It’s so hard. Tears come to my eyes as I think of the day we took Mittens to the vet that one last time… I’m terribly sorry.

  3. J said

    hey fella – like the comment earlier, i too stumbled over your site by chance, saw the dog… i have one too, great little bugger he is, they’re tougher than you think – like everyone else, stand strong and hold on to those good times.

    J

  4. Reading through my design blogs, I saw your post about MJ. I’m really sorry to hear that. Must be really hard to say goodbye. Reading this, shows how fragile life is and how unimportant things like design and other stuff can be.

Leave a Reply

